Czech Republic

The WHO Country Office, Czech Republic was established in Prague in 1992 in order to assist the Member State in achieving its main public health priorities.

The Country Office team, consisting of 2 members, serves as the focal point for WHO activities.

The Country Office responds to requests from the host country in order to support policy-making for sustainable health development.


Capital: Prague
Geographical size: 78.866,2 km2
Population: 10.512.419 (2014)
Population as % of total EU population: 2,1 % (2014)
GDP: € 149.491 billion (2013)
Official EU language(s): Czech
Political system: Parliamentary Republic
EU member country since: 1 May 2004
Seats in the European Parliament: 21
Currency: Czech koruna (CZK)
Schengen area member? Yes, Schengen Area member since 21 December 2007
Presidency of the Council:  The Czech Republic has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU once in 2009